You cannot hide corporate culture in your company web site

Posted on 12 December, 2007. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I’ve started surfing the web intensively for work again. As I move on, I’ve got things to talk about. It’s good!

Corporate culture appears in the web sites. You can’t hide it from readers.

Recently, I looked at for my research job more than 50 web sites of various IT system vendors, large an dsmall, worldwide. The purpose of my research was to find if or how much these companies have customers in the aviation sector.

I was reassued my old thoughts throught the web search; if you look at 20 pages of each of 30 corporate web sites to find the same information, you’ll naturally understand the horizontal difference across the companies.

Some may people say that what you see in a corporate web site is a marketing hype. This may be true to some degrees but surely not by 100 %. You can’t hide yourself. There is the power of comaprison.

In my research, some companies have immediately brought me the dynamic spirit of the founder, while some others, inward looking spirit of the companies. In the latter, the web sites were organised in the eyes of the insiders of the companies. These sites are not pratical or convenient for outsiders like myself to find a simple information, such as customer case studies in a certan industry.

Where does this difference come from? — The ability of a company to put itself in customers’ shoes.

Good companies — IBM, Business Objects, CSC. There would be more but I just didn’t have a chance to see the web sites of other companies wih good sensitivity to customers and markets.

Easy to say, difficut to do; Watch what you do in your customers’ eyes.

Customers are watching your behavior.

Yoshiko

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    My thoughts on selected corporate web sites, blogs and interesting press articles

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Blogs in the past

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

